Baby Don’t You Cry, Gonna Make a Pie

It was about 12 o’clock and I decided that I really needed a piece of chocolate cream pie. The retro diner that I usually go to closes during the winter, so I had to make due with my kitchen. Low and behold, chocolate cream pie is really not as hard as I thought it would be. For some reason, pies terrify me a bit. But this was so easy. I started with a recipe I found online and used that for the crust (a graham cracker crust). Instead of using the same recipe for the filling, I used the recipe on the side of the pudding box entitled “Pie Directions.” Super simple. The crust ended up being a perfect mixture of buttery, nutty, salty, and sweet. The filling was amazing. I should have made my own whipped cream, but we had Redi-Whip on hand. I don’t suggest that. It is just way too sweet. I can’t wait until the Modern Snack Bar opens again this Spring, but until then, this recipe will do me just fine.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Baby Don’t You Cry, Gonna Make a Pie

Leave a Reply

