Family Affair

Family. We all have at least a few. Whether it’s the one we make at school, the one we make at work, the one of lifetime friends, or the one of role models. We have groups of people that we can turn to no matter what. I’m so thankful to have many families. But I am even more thankful to love one that I was born into, no matter where I go or what I do.

As the youngest of four children, I was always shy. People could always answer for me, protect me, and and comfort me. Over the years and many school musicals and plays later, I’ve definitely come out of my shell. But whenever I come home, it’s comforting to know that we have our similar roles. My oldest sister is the intelligent, French one who gets excited over things like American oatmeal and Les Miserables movie trailers. My second oldest sister is a comidienne and aspiring actress, who has perfected the art of cheering me up. My brother is so smart, and knows the answer to every question from “how do I fix this” to “how does this work,” while still being charismatic and a great listener. I, on the other hand, feel that I have always been the little one. I sit back and listen to my other siblings, in awe as they go on about their passions.

My dad has always called me a little version of my oldest sister due to the similarity of our passions, though I think that I am a mini-mom. We are so similar, and I admire her perseverance and strength. My dad is so smart and so wise. I can go to him with any life question but still be comforted by Family Guy impersonations.

I left for college yesterday. I’m a sophomore, so I know what to expect and I have friends who I cannot wait to see. But leaving my close-knit family, however crazy and abnormal we are, has always been the hardest thing for me to do. My sister and I hope that one day, we will own a vineyard in Northern California and move our entire family there. Because as I leave, it becomes more an more clear: there’s no way you can live without your family.

As a “last supper” in the form of breakfast, we made something we’ve made every summer since our childhoods: donuts. With a few tin rolls of Pillsbury biscuit dough, this breakfast is impossible to mess up. Just open the roll, make some shapes, fry up in canola, vegetable or peanut oil and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.

One thought on “Family Affair

  1. It’s so nice to see that families still do things like this! Sounds like a sweet way to share a goodbye moment (no pun intended!).

Leave a Reply

