Sweet and Sour

Lemon has always been my go-to flavor. Whether it’s candy, sorbet, or a fresh scent, I find lemon to satisfy any craving.

One of my favorite dishes growing up was my mom’s Chicken Francese which she always accompanied with rice and green beans. Since I’m at college and trying to avoid those sophomore pounds, I found a “skinnier” version of her chicken and switched out her typical white rice for brown. The blanched green beans I topped with sauteed shallots in olive oil. It was the perfect meal, with the sour lemon and the sweet shallots complimenting each other.

It always surprises me when I can recreate my gourmet mother’s cooking styles, and little by little, I’m walking away from following recipes word-for-word to adding by taste and estimation. My sister and mom would be proud.

Recipe via Pinterest courtesy of Skinny Taste

One thought on “Sweet and Sour

Leave a Reply

