Home for the Holidays

There really is nothing like coming home. Especially to a home that you’ve known for years. In my case, it’s been my home for the past 15. Through changing apartments in the city, moving to San Francisco and back, going to college, and much more, this home has served as a blanket of comfort to me, without which I would have been lost.

Now, I know they say that home is where the heart is. In my case, that’s my family. But I’m only 19, and I can firmly agree that there’s something irreplaceable about a childhood home. It’s where I learned to tie my shoes; where there’s a tree in the front yard with initials carved into its thickest branch; where I used to “surf” on the wooden plank that lines the banister on the staircase; numerous Christmases; most of my birthdays (since I was a July baby). This house holds many memories. And come September, it will be hard to see them go. I’m going to France for the semester to study and live with my sister, for which I couldn’t be more excited. But there is part of me that wishes I could stay here forever and cherish the last bit of time I have left.

That’s the thing about homes though. Another place can be filled with the same people, the same Christmas decorations, the same delicious scents of cinnamon and sounds of crickets in the summer and carols in the winter. So as a way to attempt a first good-bye, my sister and I have been making cocoa non-stop over the holiday. It brings us back to the past 15 winters: irreplaceable, cherished, never forgotten.

Homemade Hot Chocolate via Joy of Love.Bake.Enjoy

(My take on the recipe: I didn’t use any hot water, and I finished with a dollop of whipped cream and cinnamon.

PS Cocoa and Charade go great together. Audrey’s wardrobe is amazing.

Hot Cocoa mix mixing stovetop christmas spode

dollop    Cocoa and Charade

2 thoughts on “Home for the Holidays

  1. Pingback: Monday Mélange: Flakes on New York | netflix & nutella

  2. Pingback: Monday Mélange: Sweets for Santa | netflix & nutella

Leave a Reply

