Madeline: Lost in Paris

May I just first say that I am very proud of my clever blog post title which is also the title of my photo album on my Facebook. Thanks to Ludwig Bemelman, bien sûr.

I still can’t believe that I can say I’m in Paris, eating croissants daily, overdosing on unpasteurized cheeses, seeing my big sister every day. I haven’t lived with her since I was in the 3rd grade and she was in the 9th, so being able to share so many Parisian experiences with her is something I’ll always be extremely thankful for.

She makes dinner for her boyfriend and me every night, not only because she is a wonderful cook, but also because eating out in expensive Paris should be a rare and appreciated occurrence. We’ve had a mélange of dishes, from Minestrone to Endive and Apple salad. I’m eagerly awaiting the tartiflette tomorrow night along with a real King’s Cake to celebrate Epiphany.

Nonetheless, my cooking duties have been put on hold since I’ve been spoiled by my sister’s culinary skills. But I’m itching to get back into the kitchen, not necessarily to take over my sister’s cooking ability, but perhaps to introduce her boyfriend to some American desserts. Homemade oreos? Donut holes? Chocolate covered strawberries? Flourless chocolate cookies? Homemade Twix bars? He and I, obviously, share a love of chocolate. But sadly, I’ll have to figure out a way to substitute out one of my FAVORITE things in the world which he can’t stand: cinnamon.

Hopefully my next post will include something a bit more “nutella.” I must mention, though, that the “netflix” aspect of this blog may dwindle soon, as I cannot get Neflix in France. But, nonetheless, I may have an occasional movie review for something I can find on YouTube. (P.S. A shout out to my sister who sent me the link to a childhood favorite of ours!)

Thanks for sticking with me, and I’ll be updating soon about ma vie parisienne!

Leave a Reply

