Duly Noted

In my PR class last semester, we spent a good 2 weeks working on our resumes, interview etiquette, internship searching, etc. Thinking about the future provokes a gut feeling of fear but also excitement. Job searching is one of those things that people assume you can figure out, but it’s definitely nice to have someone hold your hand and walk you through it.

I had a phone interview the other day for a summer internship and was offered a position. I couldn’t be more excited about it, seeing as the summer internship hunt sometimes feels like trying to find a lunch table on the first day of school – unless you know someone at one of the tables, you feel alone and, for lack of a better word, screwed.

As my PR professor would be happy to know, one of the first things I did was write my interviewer a thank you note. My sister asked me what made me feel the need and decided that I’m just O.C.D. about being perceived as rude. But putting my neurotic tendencies aside, the answer is simple: writing someone a letter is one of the most personal forms of showing your appreciation. No one gets excited about yet another email in their inbox or the infuriating process of listening to voicemails.

We were nagged every Christmas by my mom to write our thank you notes for the gifts we received from family and friends. By 10 AM on December 26th, I was usually done with mine (while my less diligent siblings were often buying stamps in late January). Getting stationery in my stocking was usually some incentive to begin with the notes.

My stationery supply is now dwindling, and instead of investing in a new set, I’m going to try to put my craftiness to the test. By investing in a few neutral stamps, some glitter, and a glue pen, Emily Schuman makes the idea of creating homemade notes easy and even more personal.

Strawberry stamps from Emily

Inspiration from Emily at Cupcakes and Cashmere

 

 

 

 

 

To my professor who took two weeks out of his precious class time to teach us how to dress for interviews and the difference between “stationary” and “stationery,” thank you. Oh, and check your mailbox.

Here are a few of my own ideas for homemade stationery courtesy of Michael’s Craft Store.

One thought on “Duly Noted

Leave a Reply

