Fool-Proof Daily Makeup

With all of the flying, adjusting to a new environment, and stress from school, it’s easy for me to let my skin become less of a priority. A few days later, I always wish I had taken that extra minute or two to wash my face. One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to really take care of my skin. That means using less cakey makeup and allowing for more natural powders to cover up any imperfections. It also means washing my face regularly and indulging in a facial every once in a while. After years of trial and error, I’ve fallen into a routine that I love.

Fool-Proof Daily Makeup

First things first, I’m absolutely head-over-heels in LOVE with my Clarisonic. I got it last Christmas in my stocking, but didn’t incorporate it as a part of my routine until recently. I use it in the shower (it’s waterproof!) with a natural face wash I have (make sure this face wash is gentle with no beads). The device takes everything off your face and leaves it feeling smooth with no dead skin.

I love using mineral powders on my face. Not only do they cover anything up, your face feels like it can breathe again. Doing musical theater in high school, I have awful memories of liquid concealer. This powder gives you a fresh, bare feeling. I started using another darker powder on my t-zone and cheeks after watching this. I had a Clinique compact that was too dark for me (I bought it one very tan summer). Since then, I love using it to highlight my features instead of having a one-dimensional color.

I like to do simple eyes with just a bit of eyeliner on my lower inner lid and upper lid, winging out just slightly at the end of my eye. Depending on my day, I may also do a stroke of natural eye shadow (darker around the outside corner of my eye and lighter up to my brow bone). Finishing off with mascara gives me a wide-eyed doe look.

Burt’s Bees is one of my favorite things of all time. It moisturizes and can add the perfect hint of color. I love the one with pomegranate oil, but they’re all amazing and leave you with the tingly feeling reminding you that it’s not only for beauty but for healing, too.

To take it all off at the end of the day, I use Neutrogena makeup removing wipes and Estee Lauder Gentle Eye Makeup Remover on my eyes. With a quick wash of my face and some moisturizer, I go to sleep, knowing my face is healthy and clear.

I hope you like some of my tips, and be sure to click on the collage to go to Polyvore and look at each item individually!

2 thoughts on “Fool-Proof Daily Makeup

  1. make sure its a loose soft brush, not thick like some blush or bronzer brushes, thats a no… you could buy an expensive brush for this, but honestly i went to a makeup warehouse and i got this non name brand one for about 5$ and its SO soft and light, and i absolutlely love it, anyways, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

