Build Me Up

It’s been quite the week. I had a huge midterm Thursday in my Paris Through Its Architecture class that (cross my fingers!) might have gone OK. Thank goodness, studying for my architecture class seemed like more of a treat than a chore. I’ve always loved history but have found that there’s a missing link in my brain when it comes to chronological order, treaties, wars, conflicts…….zzzzzzzzz.

That’s why this class has worked out so perfectly; by focusing on one aspect, like architectural developments, studying this history of Paris has been so interesting and applicable to my time here. I love looking around and seeing acanthus leaves on corinthian columns or being able to explain the history of St. Genevieve, the patron saint of Paris, to fellow Americans.

It’s moments like these where I feel like I’ve crossed into being a grown up. Wanting to do my homework? Enjoying my studying? (Similarly, I just had a conversation with my mom about wearing the hat, scarf and gloves I never wanted to wear when I was younger for fear of looking stupid, but now cling onto for dear life in the cold! Thanks Mom and Valerie for always making me bundle up!) For now, my excuse for my change in attitude will be the same excuse I’ve been using for the past two months: the Paris air has changed me.

Here’s a selection of some of my favorite places in Paris. It was hard to narrow it down, but maybe you’ll see why I chose these. Happy Friday!

Parisian Architecture
Leave a Reply

