Veggie Tales

You know when you’re on vacation, and you think, “I’m only here for a week. I might as well eat well because it’ll never be like this again!” to justify that extra hunk of bread you ate?

That’s how I’ve been feeling. But for the past 2 months. I go through waves of making smart choices…and then grabbing a croissant on my way to class.

Though it’s true that even the local grocery store has better croissants than anywhere in the States, my body seems to raising up a white flag. The way I know? All I can think about are veggies.

IMG_3338

This past weekend, after two late nights and too many beers, my friends came over for a little R&R. We watched The Princess Diaries – a classic that had us reciting every other line and reminiscing about early millenium fashion mistakes – and ate spaghetti with what I could find at the grocery store: pesto, a red bell pepper, broccoli, and chicken.

IMG_3336          IMG_3334

I’m a firm believer in the saying, “You eat with your eyes first.” Colorful food is not only prettier, but it tastes brighter. And with spring just around the corner, I can’t wait for the fresh tomatoes and asparagus I can indulge in.

I hate being “that girl” who’s saying, “I love veggies so much and would rather have veggies than cake.” Though cake is obviously a treat, I grew up in a household where snacks were fruits or veggies. Period. So now, after a few days without them, my body gives up and all I can think about is a pint of strawberries. (Confession: I have been known to put away a carton of strawberries in one sitting. And have once successfully eaten an entire Costco-sized flat in one day.)

The point of this super tangental post is that sometimes, after a long weekend, a lazy meal can be easy, cheap, and oh so delicious.

*PS. For some added flavor, sprinkle some crushed red pepper flakes or cayenne pepper on top. They curb your appetite so when you’re done, you’re done!

IMG_3346

Eating veggies + pinning desserts = mistake

IMG_3341

Failed attempt to be somewhat artsy

Leave a Reply

