Skimming the Surface

I always wish I was better informed. Really, I do. Ask me about pop culture? I can tell you about all of the hot celebrity break-ups/ hook-ups. Ask me about the gun control debate? Oh, hear that? The crickets?

It’s something I’ve tried to change about myself many times. But no matter how many times I set my homepage to the New York Times website or try to follow a current event in the news, I never seem to succeed. That is until Cupcakes and Cashmere showed me something that I am completely obsessed with.

The Skimm is a daily newsletter that summarizes some of the most important things going on in the world. It starts with a quote, recently from figures like Anthony Weiner and Chelsea Clinton, and then goes on to tell you “The Story” and “The Why” (the why being, “Why do I need to Skimm?”). After getting the basic idea of different stories, you can also follow a link to newspaper piece for more information.

The Skimm Screenshot

My favorite part of the email is the “Repeat after me.” They are clever (yet sometimes seemingly impossible) ways to introduce what you’ve learned into everyday conversation. One of my favorites from today? 

“What to say when the barista asks for your name… Anything but Clark Rockefeller. Christian Karl Gerhartsreiter, a German man who called himself by the Rockefeller name for years, was found guilty of murdering John Sohus, his landlady’s son…”

Cute anecdotes like these and many more are why I eagerly read the email every morning. Sign-up for The Skimm here. It’s one daily email you won’t go deleting from your inbox.

4 thoughts on “Skimming the Surface

Leave a Reply

