Lemon Poundcake Squares

Lemon is one of my favorite flavors. Whether it’s a candy or a cocktail, it’s my go-to.

Lemon Poundcake Squares

A room with a view

With my sister’s boyfriend out of town for the weekend, we decided to indulge in meals that aren’t Tom-friendly. The key player: lemon. After a delicious lemon, goat cheese, and asparagus pasta, we had some lemons left over. I decided to take it upon myself to use them up in dessert form (something I can proudly say even the lemon-intolerant Frenchman took a bite of).

Lemon Poundcake Squares

These lemon poundcake squares are the perfect buttery-yet-light sweet. They taste a bit like the Starbucks lemon poundcake I often resort to and are a fresh-tasting reminder of all of the summery citrusy flavors that will be coming my way.

Lemon Poundcake Squares

Recipe Courtesy of Marzipan via Pinterest

Lemon Poundcake Squares

*For the glaze, I only used about 3/4 cup of powdered sugar and about 1 1/2 tablespoons of lemon juice, eyeballing it. I did this in order to conserve powdered sugar, but next time I’ll use more to enhance the sour flavor – I think lemon desserts should be a bit more sour than sweet!

Lemon Poundcake Squares Glaze   Lemon Poundcake Squares

Leave a Reply

