My Mom’s Hash Browns

When I was little, we used to go to our country house every weekend. It was something I didn’t appreciate as much until I got older; I would have rather stayed in the city to have play-dates with my friends than go out to Westhampton where the only people I knew were my siblings.

Hash browns

When we’d return to the city on Sunday, my mom would usually resort to breakfast-for-dinner from either a lack of groceries or being tired. Whether it was pancakes or eggs, we almost always had hash browns.

Hash browns

To this day, the smell of these flavors mixing together on the stove brings back the memories of the ever-so-exciting break from well-balanced dinners we used to have. We almost always have potatoes and onions lying around, so they’re easy to whip up without stepping out to the store. The dash of paprika makes them unique, and the mix of butter and olive oil gives them the perfect crispy crust. Trust me, you’ll have a hard time resisting picking these out of the pan.

Hash browns

My Mom’s Hash Browns
5 large potatoes
2 large onions, sliced into half-moons
1/2 stick of butter
1 T olive oil
1 T salt
1 tsp pepper
1 T paprika
1. Boil/ microwave your potatoes until they’re about half-way cooked. Dice them up.
2. Melt together the olive oil and butter. Add the sliced onions.
3. Once the onions have softened, add the potatoes and spices.
4. Mix together all of the ingredients, and make a flat layer of potatoes in the pan to ensure even cooking.
5. Slow cook them on low heat for about an hour or until browned, stirring around every 10-15 minutes.
6. Serve with eggs and/or ketchup, and enjoy!
2 thoughts on “My Mom’s Hash Browns

  1. Pingback: Monday Mélange: Tastes of Home | netflix & nutella

Leave a Reply

