Autumn Leaves

Currently listening to: Autumn Leaves by Nat King Cole

If you follow me on Twitter/ Instagram, you know that I played hooky this weekend and went to Expo East in Baltimore. I had an amazing time educating people about Deya’s Gluten-Free Flour, understanding the natural food industry a bit more, and – most importantly – tasting delicious things. (Some of my favorites were Deception Salsa and Uncle Dougie’s BBQ sauce.) I was blown away by all of the tastes at the show, but saved some room for the evening: I treated myself to a California roll with fresh Baltimore crab from Whole Foods. Another WF find? Fall apples.

Whole Foods apples

Whole Foods apples

Have I mentioned that fall is my favorite season? From soups to hearty sauces to pumpkin decorations, everything screams comfort and home.

Corn grinder

Corn grinder

I can’t help but wonder about New England this time of year. The 80 degree days of North Carolina start to lose their comfort. I’m desperate for a drive through Long Island to see the changing leaves and smell the freshly lit fireplaces, returning home to feel the warmth of the stove as my mom cooks off what seems to be a whole bag of onions for a vat of tomato sauce that will be replenished every Sunday.

A 2012 fall N.C. day

A 2012 fall N.C. day

There’s a certain renaissance that’s associated with fall.  The leaves the change color and then fall to the ground are accompanied by a change of mentalities.

Boot weather

Boot weather

Recently, I cleared my mind of things that have been plaguing me since I got back from Paris. When I was in Baltimore, I had such a realization of my age. I felt so young as a college student in a pool of eager late-20-somethings trying to launch the project to which they’ve dedicated years. I felt so old in the thought that I am in the same decade of serious relationships, weddings, and first homes.

Pumpkins and squash

Pumpkins and squash

It’s important to switch out your summer dresses for sweaters, your cherry red polishes for “Wicked” and “Lacy Not Racy,” and relieve your mind of the things that have been plaguing you. For me, He’s Just Not That Into You and some Pioneer Woman did just the trick. It’s better for me to clear my mind before carrying heavy burdens into the colder seasons.

Fall 2012 apple picking on Long Island

Fall 2012 apple picking on Long Island

One thought on “Autumn Leaves

  1. Pingback: Fall Festivites | netflix & nutella

Leave a Reply

