Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Paris feels like a faint memory in my mind. It was officiated by an ever-so disappointing bite of a store-bought croissant.

Yes, I’m now spoiled about French pastries.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats | Netflix and Nutella

The other day, I was craving  a green apple, endive, and vinaigrette salad (with real French mustard…another thing I’m a snob about). It was the first meal my sister made for us when we arrived to Paris. It was New Year’s Day, and we couldn’t stomach much. Out came the potatoes cooked in duck fat and this perfect salad. The sweet and tangy salad became a staple in our house during my stay.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats | Netflix and Nutella

Though it’s not the same unless Emiglia makes it for me, I’ve been looking to her blog for culinary inspiration. After years and years of school, she’s finally graduating (with honors, I’ll add) from La Sorbonne with a master’s in French Lit. She has a “real person” job. It’s safe to say we’ve lost her to France. I’m so lucky that I was able to spend time with her, adding to her crazily busy schedule. And I appreciate the nightly dinners en français that we would share with Tom (who happily sacrificed his second serving of salad for our benefits).

Stuffed Zucchini Boats | Netflix and Nutella

But it’s nice to know, that roughly 4,000 miles away, we’re enjoying the same dish. Zucchini is a favorite in our family, and with one of the last ones I could find at my local farmer’s market, I copied my big sis. Unfortunately, mine was a bit less fancy with my limited supply of ingredients. But I did my best!

Stuffed Zucchini Boats | Netflix and Nutella

Congrats, Big Em. J’ai hâte de te voir en décembre.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

1 zucchini
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 turkey burger patty
1/2 cup tomato sauce
parmesan cheese (optional)
crushed red pepper (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 375°F.

2. Over medium heat, add oil to pan and add turkey patty. Once defrosted enough, shred the patty into bite-sized pieces. Cook just until the last bit of meat is no longer pink.

3. While the turkey is cooking, slice zucchini length-wise. Using a spoon or a knife, hollow out the inside of each half of zucchini (don’t discard insides). Place zucchini boats into greased baking pan.

4. Chop the zucchini insides into bite-sized pieces, and add to pan when turkey has almost fully changed color. When the meat is all grey, add sauce and crushed red pepper. Stir until combined. Fill mixture into zucchini boats.

5. Bake zucchini boats for about 10-13 minutes, or until zucchini is turning golden. Sprinkle with parmesan Enjoy!

Serves 1-2

5 thoughts on “Stuffed Zucchini Boats

  1. Pingback: Baked Zucchini Fries | netflix & nutella

Leave a Reply

