Strawberry-Cinnamon Jam Thumbprints

One of the dilemmas I’m facing this year is definitely the “kitchen” thing.

As you can tell, my cooking and baking posts are few and far between. Last year, I was spoiled to have a kitchen I shared with 3 roommates. This year, I’m back to my freshman days of living on a hall and sharing a kitchen with 36 other people.

I’m adjusting, and though I don’t get in there as much as I’d like, I savor my moments of making easy college bolognese and (deep-breath) store-bought cookies.

Strawberry-Cinnamon Thumbprint Cookies | Netflix and Nutella

Since I don’t use the kitchen too often, I don’t find it necessary to buy the baking essentials you rarely think twice about – vanilla, cinnamon, baking powder, even flour. So, I’ve had to improvise and figure out ways to spice up products and use as few ingredients as possible. With my limited ingredient supply, there’s bound to be many product makeovers this year.

Strawberry-Cinnamon Thumbprint Cookies | Netflix and Nutella

One of my discoveries? Thumbprint cookies. They’re not as flavorful as the ones my aunt makes every Christmas using a family recipe, but the buttery store-bought dough and my strawberry-cinnamon jam from a local farmer’s market make these ever-so special (so many great jams in Alamance County).

Strawberry-Cinnamon Thumbprint Cookies | Netflix and Nutella   Strawberry-Cinnamon Thumbprint Cookies | Netflix and Nutella

I know what you’re thinking: strawberry and cinnamon?! Sounds kind of weird. But it’s a delicious summer/fall combo. The perfect accompaniment to this Indian Summer we had this past weekend.

Thumbprint Cookies

Recipe loosely via Pillsbury.com

1 roll sugar cookie dough
1/3 cup flour
1/2 cup of your favorite jam

1. Preheat oven to 325°. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, or spray with non-stick spray.

2. In a large bowl, break up the sugar cookie dough. Add flour, and combine well with your hands. Let it sit for a few minutes to come to room temperature.

3. When the dough is more easily manageable, roll into 1 inch balls. Place the balls 2 inches apart on your prepared cookie sheet, pressing into the center with your finger to create a hole. Don’t press all the way through – just enough for a little pool of jam. Place about 1/2 teaspoon of jam into each thumbprint.

Strawberry-Cinnamon Thumbprint Cookies | Netflix and Nutella

4. Bake for 10 to 13 minutes, or until they’ve spread out and the dough has set. Do NOT wait until they are browned. Let them sit on the baking tray for 3-5 minutes, and transfer to cooling rack.

Strawberry-Cinnamon Thumbprint Cookies | Netflix and Nutella

One thought on “Strawberry-Cinnamon Jam Thumbprints

  1. Pingback: Monday Mélange: Sweets for Santa | netflix & nutella

Leave a Reply

