Monday Mélange: Health Kick

One of college’s many perks is the free gym. In NYC, gym memberships are rarely less than $100. I really try to take advantage of it, even on the laziest days when all I’d like to do is sit in bed, watch Parks and Rec, and eat these little addictive bites. But in the words of Elle Woods, “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t kill their husbands.”

On that note, here is my mélange of favorite workouts. I get so bored doing the same thing over and over, so I like to switch up the order of the machines I use or by attending a group  class. Working out is time I get to spend with myself, so I like to fit it in to my weekly schedule.

1. Dancing is an all-over workout. Whether I’m dancing in my room in front of a mirror (come on, we all do it) or attending a Zumba class, I always feel like dancing is working every muscle in my body – no targeted exercising here. The soreness the day after proves I’m right.

Health Kick | Netflix and Nutella

2. Yoga can be calming or invigorating. Taking a normal yoga class after a workout stretches out my muscles and leaves me feeling relaxed. Power Yoga, on the other hand, works all of my muscles and strengthens my core.

Health Kick | Netflix and Nutella

3. Rowing is my cardio. Although I’ll get on an elliptical, rowing is my favorite form of cardio. My mind gets to wander while I pretend I’m helping Noah row in The Notebook. (Just me…?)  Make sure your posture and technique is on par – it’s easy to fall into a slouched rhythm.

Health Kick | Netflix and Nutella

4. Hop in the pool. During the summer, I usually do laps a few times a week. Afterward, I find myself floating around, doing exercises like these to enjoy the cool water just a bit longer.

Health Kick | Netflix and Nutella

5. I’ll never look like Alessandra Ambrosio. And that’s ok with me. But maintaining a healthy routine, embracing my curves, and toning my muscles is why I’m on a health kick.

Health Kick | Netflix and Nutella

What are your favorite exercise tips?

Leave a Reply

