Multigrain Bread

I’ve been reading a lot lately about the differences between whole wheat and multigrain bread. Is one actually better for you? How can you tell? Apparently, some bread companies assume that using just white flour and rice flour makes its bread multigrain. Though technically correct, two wheat flours is not exactly the “multi” that customer is looking for.

Multigrain bread from the Burlington Co-op | netflix & nutella

One of my indulgences in my small town crowded with fast food restaurants is the Co-op. Not only does it allow me to join humanity for weekend brunch, but it also provides me with fresh and often organic options that I can’t find at the more local and less expensive supermarket. The multigrain bread I bought there lists its ingredients on the front: white flour, whole wheat flour, oats, barley, millet, corn, rye chops, sunflower seeds, flax, honey, and sea salt.

Eggs in Tomato Sauce on Multigrain Toast | netflix & nutella

Truly “multigrain,” I’ve felt a bit more comfortable indulging on carby snacks like open-faced peanut butter sandwiches or this, one of my favorites: a spin on eggs in purgatory. I loosely followed Mario Batali’s recipe, simmering some jarred tomato sauce in a saucepan, adding in 2 eggs, and cooking for 3-5 minutes. Plopped on top of some toasted multigrain bread, this was the perfect hearty brunch.

Eggs in Tomato Sauce on Multigrain Toast | netflix & nutella

One thought on “Multigrain Bread

Leave a Reply

