Bologna: A Food Tour

For the past 10 days, I traveled a bit around Europe for my Spring Break. I’m splitting the posts up into different days so that I can ramble on about each place without completely boring everyone to death. Let’s start with Bologna!

I had the best tour guide for my stay in Bologna. It was the same friend who I ventured to Europe with almost 2 summers ago (I can’t believe that!) and has since perfected her Italian by studying there this semester. It was so great to tour the city with someone who knew all of the great gelato places and could guide us around without a map. Here are some of the best parts of my trip, though there was an endless number gems.

 
Best Drink: Italy has this great tradition of aperitivo, when restaurants offer a full buffet of hors d’oeuvres for free after buying one drink. Not a bad deal for college students, or anyone for that matter! Bologna is covered in bars and restaurants that offer aperitivo, and we definitely took advantage of it there.

Best Food: Biagi for the homemade spinach and ricotta tortellini and ragu sauce (had to have pasta bolognese in Bologna!) Also, La Sorbetteria Castiglione for the best gelato in the city! I had chocolate and stracciatella and it was perfection; piadina, a sandwich, similar to panini but on great thin bread (like pita)

 
Need to SeeMercato di Bologna on Saturdays; climb the Two Towers; Santo Stefano; Archiginnasio of Bologna; wander around the markets; “Little Venice”

2 thoughts on “Bologna: A Food Tour

  1. Pingback: Passages | netflix & nutella

Leave a comment